EHS Alumni Spotlight: Jordan Levey

EHS interviewed Jordan Levey, a 2008 graduate of the Family Studies program. Here’s what she had to say:

What is your current job title and employer?levey2
Assistant Attorney, Law Offices of Scott Tzinberg in Chicago

Describe your Miami experience:
I declared Family Studies as my major during my first semester at Miami and instantly knew that I made the right decision. I found every class to be interesting, and really enjoyed the small class size and close relationships with my professors. I tried to get as involved as possible, so I helped create the Family Studies and Social Work Student Organization (FSWSO) and served as its President until I graduated. I also worked as a research assistant with Elise Radina.

Was there anyone who helped you while you were here?
During my senior year at Miami, I learned about an independent study opportunity in a different department that involved a trip to South Africa. I had an idea for a project, comparing the social work systems between the U.S. and South Africa. Even though the program wasn’t initially open to Family Studies/Social Work students, my professors wrote letters on my behalf and helped me get into the program anyway. My project in South Africa was one of the most impactful experiences of my life, and I will always be thankful to my professors at Miami for helping me take advantage of that opportunity (and many other opportunities as well).

How has being Family Studies major helped you along your career path?
I knew that I wanted to work with families, but it took me some time to figure out the right career path.  After earning my MSW, I decided to go to law school and practice family law. As a family law attorney, I believe my background in Family Studies/Social Work gives me a unique perspective that allows me to provide competent and compassionate legal services for my clients. In my practice, I strive to resolve issues outside of the courtroom and avoid litigation. My philosophy is that it’s better for families to make decisions about what’s in their best interests, rather than leaving it up to a judge to decide. I continue to maintain an interest in family dynamics and close personal relationships, and I’m confident that my background in Family Studies/Social Work helps me better serve my clients every day.

Leave a Reply

