EHS Alumni Spotlight: Kimberly Owens

EHS interviewed alumna Kimberly Owens, a 2011 graduate of the Family Studies program. Here’s what she had to say:

What is your current job title and employer?
Program Facilitator, Supports to Encourage Low-income Families (SELF), Hamilton, OH

Have you been recognized for any significant accomplishments in your field?Kimberly Giving speech
I have re-initiated the Bridges Out of Poverty Coalition in Butler County and was asked to be on the panel to present at the OACAA (Ohio Association of Community Action Agencies) Innovative Summit in October, 2014 in Columbus.

How has your Family Studies training benefited you in the work that you do now?
I was an intern at the Family Resource Center where I was introduced to the Bridges Out of Poverty Getting Ahead Program which I enrolled and attended during my senior year at Miami. The information that I was learning in this class compelled me to share the Bridges Frameworks with my follow social work classmates. I started presenting to social work classes at Miami on the different mindsets and mentalities that are generally associated across different economic classes: how environments and stability levels are linked to an individual’s ability to succeed and thrive in the “norms” of our society. The Bridges Coalition at the time heard of my passion for the work and what I was doing they asked that I come in to speak at their next meeting. It was at the end of that meeting I was asked to interview to teach the Bridges Getting Ahead classes full time at Butler County’s local action agency SELF (Supports to Encourage Low-income Families).

Leave a Reply

