Dietetics alumnus works for Good Samaritan Hospital

fieldsChristopher Fields, RDN, LD recently told us all about his Clinical Dietitian job in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at Good Samaritan Hospital and how the Nutrition and Dietetics program at Miami University’s College of Education, Health and Society has helped him reach his goals:

What degree did you earn at Miami University?
Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology & Health, Nutrition and Dietetics, Cum Laude

Did you go on to graduate from any other colleges after Miami?
I am currently working on my Master’s in Human Nutrition at the University of Alabama (online).

Describe what you do at your job:
I work in the neonatal intensive care unit at Good Samaritan Hospital, in Cincinnati, Ohio. My primary job is to assess the nutritional needs of the neonates in my care and recommend enteral and parenteral nutrition regimens to the interdisciplinary medical team. Every day, I monitor the growth of the babies and work with our resident team and pharmacist to prescribe total parenteral nutrition (TPN). I also help to oversee the formula preparation room and follow up with families after discharge if they have any questions or concerns with their baby’s feeding regimen.

What made your Miami experience unique?
I was a non-traditional student, so my experience was somewhat different from that of my peers. I had a wife and kids, and foster kids while attending classes full time. But, in so many ways, our experiences were similar. I never felt an outcast. I had support from my peers and supported them. We studied together (when I could make it!) and we struggled together. I’m thankful for the inclusion and the opportunity to become an alumnus. Love and Honor!

Were there any Miami professors that were influential in your college career?
All of my Miami professors were supportive. Even outside of my major, professors were very supportive. Dr. James Garrity (Organic Chemistry) came to support me during a presentation I gave at Miami University about the need for nutrition education in the foster care system. This meant a great deal to me, as I could easily have been lost in the large class that he taught – he was committed to personalizing my education. Gretchen Matuszak taught me so much about clinical dietetics and inspired me with her career highlights working in NICUs and collaborating with the medical team. Nancy Parkinson was influential in my decision to return to school. Her support and direction helped me navigate the scheduling and planning processes to work on a goal for graduation. I wouldn’t be where I am without her guidance, support, and insistence to excel. Both Nancy and Gretchen offered guidance during the interview process and gave me recommended readings and resources to prepare for my interview. Miami’s dietetic program is second to none. I believe I was very prepared for my internship and have a solid foundation for my career. I’m so thankful to everyone there!

Leave a Reply

